Social Stamping Family

Image may contain: text

Welcome to week 7 of our social stamping blog posts! I feel like the past 7 weeks have just flown by. This week’s theme is family.

The whole lockdown, isolation and social distancing that we have been experiencing lately has forced us to spend more time together as a family. Not everything about Covid-19 has been bad. It has been lovely to stop and slow down and reflect on what is really important during this time. We have been spending more time together as a family. Having real conversations, loving each other and spending some outside time together, including walks on the beach. Which brings me to the cards I have made.

I have used the Beautiful Moments and A Good Man Stamp sets to make these cards. I love how they go together so nicely and compliment each other. You could certainly use them combined on the one card.

 

I made these cards with the memories in mind that we are creating. In years to come, I hope the kids remember this pandemic time to be a time when we stayed in each other’s company and just enjoyed the little things.

I used Sahara Sand for the base and frame of my card. I wanted this to kind of look like a photograph, I decided to place the frame on an angle to create a bit of fun to this design. Firstly, I stamped my image onto Whisper White card stock and then coloured in using my blends. I created a mask over this image and then stamped the water image from the high tide stamp set in night of navy (second generation stamping) and seaside spray inks. I sponge coloured the sky using seaside spray ink.

I used some coordinating subtles 6″ x 6″ DSP in seaside spray. The shell was stamped from Seaside Notions and coloured with light calypso coral and crumb cake blends.

On the inside I added a strip of the DSP and another stamped shell. I really like this end result and I think it captures the true meaning of family.

The male version of this themed card was made using Sahara Sand card stock, Come Sail Away Designer Series Paper, Corrugated Embossing Folder and some blends. I also sponged some Seaside Spray on the background after creating a mask over my stamped image.  I stamped a little heart in Seaside Spray ink before stamping my “it’s your day” sentiment over the top. It has been a while since I stamped anything in Night of Navy, one of my favourites. I just love it.

Both cards have some Night of Navy and Sahara Sand twine added, I love these two colours together. If you love these Designer Series Papers or the twine, be sure to get some quick before they sell out. These products are retiring next month. Thankfully, the stamp sets that I used are all carrying over into the new catalogue. Yay!

I added the little strip of DSP on the inside of the card on this one too.

I hope you enjoyed this week’s Social Stamping Blog Hop, make sure to click in the next button below to see what wonderful creativeness Kelly has to share with us. To view a list of all the participants please click on the header banner at the top of this post.

Happy Crafting!

Mandy x

Products Used

  • Beautiful Moments Stamp Set
  • A Good Man Stamp Set
  • Seaside Notions Stamp Set
  • Sahara Sand Card Stock
  • Whisper White Card Stock
  • Rectangle Stitched Dies
  • Memento Black Ink
  • Seaside Spray Ink
  • Night of Navy Ink
  • Bermuda Bay, Seaside Spray, Ivory, Roccoco Rose, Cherry Cobbler, Smoky Slate, Soft Suede, Crumb Cake, Calypso Coral Blends
  • Subtles 6″ x 6″ DSP
  • Come Sail Away DSP
  • Corrugated Embossing Folder
  • Classic Label Punch
  • 1″ Circle Punch
  • Night of Navy and Sahara Sand Twine

9 thoughts on “Social Stamping Family

  1. These are so beautiful! And so perfect for families. I’ve appreciated going slower these last few weeks too and your cards are so evocative of spending quiet time together!!

    Like

  2. The frame is so effective! Love it! We’ve enjoyed going slower too, although I haven’t escaped to my craftroom as much as I thought I may have!

    Like

  3. Gorgeous cards Mandy! There’s plenty of good to have come from this virus, we’ve just got to choose to focus on that. Here’s hoping we all keep the pace slow and life simple as we stage back into the new normal. Happy Mother’s Day! Kelly x

    Like

  4. Enjoyed reading your post Mandy-there are both ups and owns to the current situation. Love how you’ve used both of these gorgeous stamp sets-pleased that they are in the new catalogue too!

    Like

Leave a comment