Social Stamping Sunshine

Image may contain: text

Let’s fill this blog hop with Sunshine! This is our theme for this wonderful Saturday afternoon. We have been having some glorious sunny days here in Dalyellup in Western Australia. Some of the days lately have been quite warm, it has been so lovely. I love autumn, my favourite season, although I know winter is looming so lets share some sunshine on this blog hop!

My favourite thing to do in autumn is go fishing, salmon fishing with my Dad. This year we missed out because of travel restrictions in place which is kind of a let down. We would travel an hour or so south and try our luck at catching some salmon. I love the thrill of catching one, they are my favourite fish to catch. I am usually the only girl in sight and I love it when I catch one and none of the blokes do…who says girls can’t catch fish!

The fish in the Best Catch stamp set reminds me of a salmon. This stamp set is one of my favourite masculine sets (although also great for fisherwomen too!) A customer needed a male birthday card and fishing was a favourite hobby so I thought I would create a sunset framed picture and use it for the theme of this week’s social stamping.

To create the sunset, I simply punched out a piece of sticky note paper for the sun and also covered across my card where the horizon of the ocean would be. I then used Pineapple Punch, Pumpkin Pie and a little of Poppy Parade to create a glowing sunset. Once I was happy with my sunset shades, I took off the masking post it notes and created the water. Seaside Spray and Night of Navy colours were used for the ocean using a stamp from the High Tide stamp set. I also tried to extend the colour of the sunset into the ocean.

The grass to the left of the card were cut in whisper white card stock and I used my ink pads and sponges to add colour with Pear Pizzazz, Old Olive and Soft Suede. The fish was coloured with blends, Smoky Slate, Pool Party and Calypso Coral. A couple of die cuts from the set were used to decorate the inside of the card. I also coloured these in with blends.

I have enjoyed stamping with this set, it was nice to use it one last time before it retires next month. I will be keeping hold of this one though. It is a great set for all my fishing buddies!

I hope you have enjoyed my bit of sunshine I have shared with you today, don’t let my photos fool you, even though it was a sunny day when I took these photos, it was so windy! I had to hang onto my card before it flew away.

Make sure you click on the next button below to see what other inspiration you can get from this blog hop. Next up is Kelly Kent, I bet she has some wonderful sunshine to share with us. To view the participants in this blog hop please click on the header banner at the top of this post.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend and enjoy the sunshine!

Mandy x

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Social Stamping Sunshine

  1. Such a wonderful card for a fisherman ( and I love you can fish too!). A gorgeous sunset and design where the salmon is the star. x

    Like

  2. I love this stamp set too!! And combining it with a sunset was a brilliant idea!! Love it all.

    Like

Leave a comment