Star Wars Stampin’ Up! Style

It has been a great start to the year with Master 7 being invited to not one, but two Star Wars Birthday parties. His first party was last Saturday. Now I am the first to admit it but I am not a Star Wars fan like at all. Apologies to all the Star Wars fans out there but there is something about it that I just couldn’t ever get into. I remember when I was about 15 or 16 I went to the cinema with some friends to watch a Star Wars movie. Not being my thing I was super bored and ended up sleeping through the movie! So that was my first and my last Star Wars encounter…until now.

So with my son being invited to this party and me determined not to buy a card, I quite simply had to make one! So straight to the internet I go for an image of something Star Wars themed.

My take on Baby Yoda holding a sword

I took my inspiration from Stephanie Fischer, The Crafty Thinker, you can view her amazing Baby Yoda card if you click here. Circle and Oval dies were used with some Pear Pizzazz card stock for his head (the oval dies were cut in half and glued together to make his ears). His tiny nose and eyes were punched out using the Owl Punch in Old Olive, Early Espresso and Whisper White. I die cut a triangle using my stitched triangle dies using Crumb Cake card stock, then I used the Subtle embossing folder to give it some texture.

Baby Yoda’s hand was punched out of the Vases Builder Punch and his sword was punched out using Silver Foil and the Classic Label Punch which was also used to cut out the Happy Birthday sentiment from the Itty Bitty Birthday stamp set stamped in Misty Moonlight.

The playful alphabet dies make personalising a card easy

Have you tried the adhesive foam sheets yet? I cut out a small amount and stuck to the back side of my dazzling diamonds glimmer paper (retired) then put my alphabet dies on top, run it through my die and embossing machine and voila, you have your alphabet dies on a dimensional without the fuss of cutting the regular ones to size. Too easy! The stars were cut using the stitched star dies using silver foil and the dazzling diamonds glimmer paper.

So what do you think? Did I pass the test on a Star Wars themed card? I think it resembled something kind of like Baby Yoda and at least I didn’t have to go out and “buy” a store bought card.

I am hopeful my BBB (big, brown box) will arrive tomorrow filled with lots of new products from the new mini catalogue. I am excited to start designing with some new products for my upcoming classes. If you are interested in coming to one of my classes, please email or message me. I would love to have you join us.

One thought on “Star Wars Stampin’ Up! Style

Leave a comment